Since 2011, the management body of the Biosphere Reserve has been integrated into the Provincial Council of Lugo (as a special administrative body without its own legal personality), made up of a Governing Body (governing body) and a Management Body. Participation (advisory in nature).


The Regulation establishes the composition, purpose and functions of the different bodies that comprise them, together with their legal and economic regime.

Regulations of the management body (BOP Lugo nº 76 – 04.04.2011)

Composition (06-30-2023)
Meeting agendas

Composition (12-18-2023)
Meeting agendas

Centro de Interpretación Terras do Miño – Paseo do Rato (Lugo)

Mazo de Santa Comba


Since 2013, the Biosphere Reserve has had an Management Plan approved by both bodies, following a public participation process that has allowed the effective involvement of citizens in decision-making that affects the territory.
The Plan outlines the strategic lines of action aimed at conserving the natural heritage of the Reserve, providing services and infrastructure to residents in order to improve their quality of life and generating wealth and employment to establish population in the territory of the Reserve.

Management Plan for the Terras do Miño Biosphere Reserve 2013-2023 (extended)

Management Plan for the Terras do Miño Biosphere Reserve 2024-2034 (initially approved)

Public exhibition announcement Management Plan for the Terras do Miño BR 2024-2034 (BOP nº 292 22-12-2023)


Each year, the annual performance report of the Biosphere Reserve is presented and reported to the Participation Body and approved by the Governing Body.

Annual performance reports

Lagoas de Cospeito


The Terras do Miño Biosphere Reserve is one of the largest in the Iberian Peninsula, has an area of 363,669 ha and includes 26 municipalities in the province of Lugo: Abadín, Alfoz, Baralla, Begonte, Castro de Rei, Castroverde, O Corgo, Cospeito, Friol, Guitiriz, Guntín, Lancara, Lugo, Meira, Mondoñedo, Muras, Ourol, Outeiro de Rei, O Páramo, A Pastoriza, Pol, Rábade, Riotorto, O Valadouro, Vilalba and Xermade.


It integrates the most important areas for the conservation of the territory’s biodiversity, consisting mainly of the protected natural spaces ZEC Parga-Ladra-Támoga and ZEC Serra do Xistral, along with small spaces represented mainly by wetlands.

It occupies an area of 35,505 hectares, 10 % of the Reserve.

The core area is represented in orange


They are areas of lower conservation value than the core, but in which it is necessary to preserve the configuration of the landscape components, as well as the territorial distribution of the large types of natural and semi-natural habitats.

It covers an area of 79,934 hectares, which represents 22% of the total area of the Reserve.

The buffer area is represented in green


The transition zones cover areas of high agricultural, livestock and forestry productivity and in which practically the entire population living in the Reserve is concentrated. It is characterized by a rural landscape made up of a mosaic of farm plots and meadows, delimited by tree and bush stands, along with small groves spread across the wide valleys and depressions that structure the terrain.

It includes an area of 248,229 hectares, which represents 68% of the Reserve.

The transition area is represented in yellow

Preliminary zoning viewer. (You can download the cartography of the limits and zoning of the Biosphere Reserve in the DOCUMENTATION section)


A large part of the outer limits of the Reserve are defined by the administrative limits of the 26 municipalities that comprise it, except in its northern end, where only the municipalities of Abadín, Alfoz, Meira, Mondoñedo, Muras Ourol, Pol, Riotorto and O Valadouro.

Map of the province of Lugo

This work was fully financed by the Next Generation funds of the European Union through the subsidy called by the Xunta de Galicia “Aid for actions by the management bodies of the biosphere reserves of Galicia under the Recovery Plan , Transformation and Resilience, financed by the European Union-NextGenerationEU, for the years 2022 and 2023.” However, the views and opinions expressed are solely those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the European Commission. Neither the European Union nor the European Commission is responsible for them.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.